You are here: Trade  >  Celebrating Excellence  >  Sommelier of the Year Award
In This Section
Trade Tickets & Info
Trade Days Conference Pass
Trade Tastings
2015 Trade Events
Trade Brochure PDF
Wine Program Excellence Awards
Celebrating Excellence
About Bard on the Beach
Wine Law Conference
Sommelier of the Year Award

The Sommelier of the Year Award recognizes working sommeliers who consistently demonstrate an outstanding passion for marrying wine with food and a dedication to exceptional service. 

2014 Sommelier of the Year
Mike Bernardo - Vij's Group


Mike Bernardo has been an integral team player at the Vij’s Group of restaurants for well over a decade. While as a jet ski instructor and certified diver working on cruise ships he developed a keen interest in wine. In Vancouver he has found a passion for good wine and food and is keen on sharing that knowledge. Mike has created and nurtured a focused wine program that suits the sometimes spicy and often exotic flavours of Vij’s celebrated cuisine. He is also the Director of Operations and has full responsibility for Sutra, the company’s Victoria location.

Past winners include:

• Samantha Rahn - (Araxi Restaurant - 2013)

• Terry Threlfall - (Hawksworth - 2012)

• Owen Knowlton - (West - 2011)

• Kurtis Kolt - (Salt Tasting Room - 2010)

• Andrea Vescovi - (Blue Water Cafι - 2009)

• Neil Ingram (Boneta – 2008)

• Chris Van Nus (Blue Water Cafι – 2007)

• Sebastien Le Goff (CinCin Restaurant – 2006)

• Tom Doughty (C Restaurant – 2005)

• Mark Taylor (CRU Restaurant – 2004)

• Barb Philip MW (Fish House and Cannery Restaurants – 2003)

• Peter Bodnar Rod (C Restaurant – 2002)

• Mark Davidson (The Beach House – 2001)

• Brent Hayman (Raincity Grill – 2000)

"From screwcaps and labels, to bottle weights, POS and marketing materials, and much more, the festival remains a treasure trove of information for the wide-eyed and inquisitive." - Anthony Gismondi
Home|Events|Tickets|Gala|Exhibitors|Media|Volunteers|Sponsors|About Us|Contact Us
Vancouver International Wine Festival • © 2012